24 Apr, 2024

New RMA Board Members Appointed

On Wednesday 24 April, the Cabinet Secretary for Justice and Home Affairs announced the appointment of Alain Zysset and Kieran McCartan to the Risk Management Authority Board. 

Our Board meet bi-monthly and are responsible for setting the strategic direction of the RMA. With the recent publication of our 2024-2029 Corporate Plan, our Board will ensure that the work of the RMA continues to contribute towards making Scotland safer.

Geraldine O’Hare, RMA Board Convener, said: “I am absolutely delighted to welcome Alain Zysset and Professor Kieran McCartan as new Board Members to the RMA. They bring a wealth of experience and expertise to the Board, and their extensive knowledge and skillset in human rights law and criminology, will greatly contribute to the delivery of our new Corporate Plan.”

Chief Executive, Mark McSherry, added: “As we begin our new Corporate Plan in Making Scotland Safer, we are all looking forward to working with and learning from Dr Zysset and Professor McCartan”

Dr Alain Zysset is a Senior Lecturer at the School of Law, University of Glasgow. As a member of the RMA Board, Alain will bring his knowledge in the foundations and implementation of human rights law across the domestic, European and international realms. Trained as a lawyer, philosopher and historian in Switzerland, the UK and Canada, Alain will bring his experience of working collaboratively across disciplines and strengthen the RMA’s expertise in delivering on its core mandates.

Professor Kieran McCartan is a Professor of Criminology at the University of the West of England. He researches a range of areas including the prevention of a response to sexual abuse, as well as trauma-informed practice. He has completed funded research for UK and International funders including, ESRC, Leverhulme Trust, the Home Office, the Ministry of Justice, EU Horizon 2020 and Australia’s National Organisation for Women’s Safety. Kieran has advised (including the Council of Europe and the Australian National Office of d and continue s to advise (including the European Union, ECPAT International, and NSPCC) many national and international governments and organisations, as well as sitting on several boards (including the Confederation of European Probation Circles Southwest). He is currently the Vice-Chair of the National Organisation for the Treatment of Abuse (NOTA).

Both appointments will be for four years and will run from 22 April 2024 to 21 April 2028. See all Board Members here.

Cookie settings

Welcome to the RMA website. We've recently made some changes to the content you'll see and how you navigate our website. We're committed to continually improving how we communicate and we'd love to hear your feedback - please take a minute to click 'Give Feedback' below to rate your experience of our website.

Website Feedback

    Rate your experience using the website out of 5

    Input this code: captcha